SUNDAYS AT 10:00 AM
The church is now open for in-person worship; please join us! Registration is no longer necessary. Our services are also available to watch via Zoom Meeting each week; contact the church office to be put on the email list for the Zoom Meeting invitation and to receive the bulletin.
820 9th Street
Map & Directions →
First United Methodist Church of Berthoud has a rich history, starting in the pre-Berthoud colony named “Little Thompson,” located one mile south of Berthoud’s current location. In the early 1870s, Lewis Cross built a one-room cabin on his homestead along the Little Thompson River bottom to serve as both a school and church. The church began as a United Brethren Church at the Cross cabin where they worshipped until the fall of 1886, when they moved into a new building at 4th and Turner in present-day Berthoud. By 1903, the church’s membership had outgrown the building and a new church was built on the corner of 4th and Mountain Avenue, which today is the home of the Foursquare Church. In 1946, the church received a new name due to a merger of the United Brethren and the Evangelical Church, becoming the Evangelical United Brethren Church. After outgrowing the building on 4th and Mountain Avenue, a new church was built at our current location, with the first service being held on August 11, 1957. In 1968, the Evangelical United Brethren Church of Berthoud became the First United Methodist Church of Berthoud, due to the merger of the two denominations.
In 1989, the sanctuary underwent a remodel in which a 20-foot arch was erected to accentuate the cross and two stained glass windows were installed on the south wall, one on either side of the arch. The sanctuary also received a redesigned altar area and new carpet.
We remember those who came before us and strive to continue the faithful service to God and others that they so graciously demonstrated.